More In-depth analysis on InDesign tools

Whist practicing on InDesign I have used some of the essential tools. I have really found it helpful but at the same time challenging, the tools I have used consists of:

The rectangle tool

The rectangle tool is located on the left toolbar and looks like a lightly shaded rectangle. You can use the rectangle tool, when you want to create a rectangular shape on the page. You can fill that rectangle with text or a color to make a solid shape. The shape can be stretched. If you stretch the rectangle it can create a thick border in between sections of text or as a recurring element at the top or bottom of a page.

These tools are used to draw photo blocks or graphic elements

The rectangle frame tool

The rectangle frame tool also is located on the left toolbar a few spots above the rectangle tool. You can definitely distinguish it from the rectangle tool because of the way the “x” is inside of it.  The rectangle frame tool you use to create a rectangle place holder. The placeholder is invisible in the finished document but can be used to easily and quickly place pictures or other graphics throughout the document. This is what I did when practicing on it:

I clicked on the rectangular frame and click on “Insert” followed by “Place” and “Image” that was so it dropped a photo into that frame. I then had the opportunity to adjust and resize the photo as needed to make it fit within the frame.

These tools are used to draw photo blocks or graphic elements.

Wrap text around a graphic or text box

To wrap text around a text box or graphic I clicked on the selection tool this is also situated on the left toolbar right at the top, it is a black arrow then I Double-click on the text box or graphic you want to wrap text around. I then clicked on window and selected ‘text wrap’ the one which has lines around the box.

Wrap text around a shape

To do this I would yet again select the black arrow tool that is in the toolbar on the left-hand side of the screen, then I would double click on the shape I wanted to have text wrapped around. I then would do the same as before by clicking on windows and select text wrap but this time I would choose the square with lines surrounding a circle.

Opacity

To change the opacity of something within InDesign, I would select the Apply Effects button, which is located on the Control Panel. I then selected Object, Stroke, Fill or Text depending on what I wanted to do and the subject I wanted to adjust the opacity of. I then would enter a value in the Opacity box or drag the slider located next to the opacity setting. This tool is good it u want something to appear more see-through and dim down colours

Place holder text

In InDesign you can add placeholder text that you can easily replace with real text later. I used this when practicing making double page spreads. By adding placeholder text it gives you a more complete sense of your document’s design. To do this i had to Use the Selection tool to select one or more text frames, and the clicked Fill with Placeholder Text. I learned that if i wanted to remove or replace placeholder text, i had to double-click in any frame, and had to Select All, and then delete the text.

Through learning the different tools it has allowed me to gain a better understanding to what the software can provide. When creating my document I will save time as I have a understanding of the basic tools that are on offer. Saving time is key when doing a piece of work. In real work situations timing and deadlines can be strict.

Chelsea (2012). Annotation on key tools, previous work on the topic Guidelines for guidelines. St Mary’s Sixth form, Hull on “2012”.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

