Reflection on Building a Font

Creating  a font can be incredibly simple, I used Adobe Illustrator to create my type. There are many other programmes out there which fonts can be built with. For instance,

  • FontCreator – It is a very popular piece of software. It is an American piece and works on Windows Vista, XP, 7, 8, 10. The issue is that it costs to get it starting price is from $69. The website states that it is the worlds most popular font editor.
  • FontForge – It is an open source font builder. I found this challenging to use but at the same time fun.
  • TypeTool – is a expensive piece of software but claims to have a be a professional tool. so, it many be worth looking into if I was to do this area and investing in.

My Font Built in Illustrator

With my font I used the anatomy of typography. I made a serif style as I personally prefer this appearance.

Anatomy-of-Typography.png

Leave a Reply

