Space Utilisation in an Identity

When creating my own identity it is crucial that I have a better understanding on placement, spacing and utilisation of other identities. This will give me more of an insight on how I should structure my own branding. Spacing can be really important to a piece. Letter spacing is the amount of overall spacing of a word or even a bulk of text. Letter kerning focuses more on the spacing better two characters. If a letter is moved closer this causes negative space, which can make one character appear to be a different one. For instance: if I had to characters C and an L and changed the Kern then the letters can appear to be an A or a D. This could change the full meaning of a piece and makes an identity look unprofessional.

my kerning explination.jpg

My example

I did some research and here are some examples out there on the market. These prove how how important spacing and kerning are.

bad-letter-spacing-1__605

This is a shop in America. The Name of the shop isn’t made clear and could be Misinterpreted as Kid Sexchange or Kids Exchange.

bad-letter-spacing-19__605

This Image is from Grand Theft Auto. The click lovers could be Misinterpreted and could be read as Dick lovers. This changes the full meaning of the text.

If the letter is moved further away it creates positive space. This makes each letter readable for the audience. However, too much spacing can be bad for an identity. It can end up making a group of letters become individual.

I have learned that depending on the type of text and the spacing of each element is valuable. This can affect how the eye runs across the words and change the meaning of the data given.

Blank spacing has positive connotations of a much more professional piece. Newspaper tabloids like the New day have lots of negative space. This helps to make the content seem much more important.

If I take on board this research then I will produce a much more professional identity. It will make my typeface look much more appropriate and help to communicate the right meanings behind it.

Leave a Reply

