Basic Typography on Adobe Illustrator

In todays session we were given the assignment brief for this part of the course. This highlight what the project and things we have to do to make sure that we pass. Making the work to a high standard.

After discussing the assignment brief ‘David’ moved the session onto typography, this is seen everywhere, it helps the audience to identify and familiarise themselves with specific language, branding and visuals. By having typography, it helps companies to sell products as it convinces the audience to buy into the brand visually and ascetically. Typography is much more complex and complicated in comparison to signs and symbols. Within this session we had a tutorial on the different ways to used simple typography in illustrator. These are some of the simple ways to add design to the ways text sits within a document and what can be done.type practice original text with strokeThis image showcases my knowledge on how to insert a simple text box and typing my name. also that I can change the colour of the text and add a different coloured stroke to the lettering. This is useful to know as I will have to use the text box tool a lot when designing things.

type practice, ungroup letters and mainuplate pointsI did the same things as the first image, however with this one, I then highlighted all the text right clicked and ungrouped. This meant that I could move each letter around individually. It also meant that I could play around with other tools, to change the appearance. This can look unprofessional so I would be careful to keep my designs simple but yet creative. my designs have to be audience appropriate.

type practice blending background into text

In the image above, it shows an image/ pattern through the lettering this was a very simple process. Basically, i got an image and created a text box and typed my name. i then placed the word above my image and highlighted both then right clicked and pressed make clipping mask

type practice 3D

This is a 3D perspective of my name, it still has a fill colour and a stroke colour. To do this i went to the 3D settings and manipulated the angle in which we see the letters from. This In my opinion can be useful but only for specific audiences and platforms. This would work as well on a more professional basis. Out of all the tutorial this was my favourite one to change as  it isn’t that complicated and there is so many options on how much or little i could change it too.

type practice adding text to a shapetype practice manipulating text into a shape from own designtype practice adding text to a normal box

This image highlights that I learned how to fill a basic shape with text this can be a very effective way to make boring text into that more digestible. This also might help to pull out important information in a design. By having this knowledge if need be I could use this technique within my own work. This can help to change the appearance of a lot of text. This also shows that i can create a shape and get text to mould to the desired shape. This is a useful thing to know as i can use this to my advantage if i wanted to text wrap around an image or another infographic.

Just from this session I realise the importance of typography and how it can help to sell a product, service or person. There are so many different ways to create attractive and high quality typographic’s. i actually feel like this could be fun to learn and develop my creative skills to produce my own work.

Leave a Reply

