Reflection – Website Creation Research

In a recent session we were asked to do some research into the different websites we could use to create our very own website. We were all as a group given the task to sign up to some of the popular websites. These include: Wix, Moonfruit, Weebley and Square space. The process was not difficult as I just needed to find a website which would be the best for me. For instance, had to be simply nothing to complicated, free and had to be a good platform for my online portfolio. It definitely makes a massive difference to how you express and showcase yourself online and picking a good quality platform to build it on will have a massive impact on my overall professional appearance.

On the website I chose will have my portfolio on which allows me to make a statement about myself, my inspirations and aspirations. I have an opportunity to define myself as a brand, creating a visual identity in which will be identifiable to what I am about and to what my chosen topics for thoughts will be and finally will define a specific target audience I want to capture.

In order for my website to be successful and have structure, my website should have the following pages:

  1. Home page
  2. Blog links
  3. Gallery
  4. An About Page
  5. Contact

When I created an account on Wix I found that it was simple and the interactive elements was easy to navigate around. This website is a free platform for users to start branding themselves and to create content, I find that it will be the best on to use as it looks simple and easy enough for a beginner like myself. When I login I found that I could pick a template quickly with no hassle and think it will be a good place to start off my first website. In the image below it shows, how i have used the tools to mock up a quick sample. I used all actuality image and manipulated them in Photoshop, then embedded them onto the website. I also change text, colours, size, fonts and much more.

Photo source: Screen Shot of own work

After I signed up to Wix I then went onto other websites such as Moonfruit, Weebly and Sqaure Space. I found these a lot more complex and not of my interest to use. I found them complicated even to do the basic of things and harder to navigate and change what was needed. Also it took me a lot longer to find out how to do things and the templates weren’t what I was requiring. On some of these websites a lot of things were not free meaning it could be quite costly in time, this put me off as they were harder to use and cost.

If I wasn’t going to use Wix then my second option would be to use Moonfruit as it was not to my taste when originally starting out, however i think if i had more time to learn the ways around the website it then wouldn’t be so bad.

Leave a Reply

