C.A.T.S Reflection – History of Journalism

During, the recent session of CATS I was introduced to some useful background information of journalism. This information is imperative as these were the key milestone in the history of print and digital Journalism. Just from the lesson, I learnt just how far Journalism has come and now we see the more modern society ways of doing things. It all dates back to the Ancient Rome era, were they used ‘Hieroglyphs symbols’ Then we see that the invention of print presses where introduced, then we move on to todays society were we see mass media formats, like Broadsheets, Tabloid’s and online data. I found the history interesting as it shows that things have changed but still follow the same characteristics as the very early forms of journalism.

In todays society we see that print journalism is slowly getting taken over by the online market, this is because technology is much more advanced and it’s a more modern and sometimes faster way of sourcing the data. I do believe that print is still an incredibly important part of todays society and still has a very large audience. I personally like to hold a newspaper as it feels more satisfying. I can read it whilst chilling out. Newspaper I think will always play a part in society in years to come as it is a generational thing. It gets passed down from generations by parents and grandparents.

Our major presentation at the end of semester is based on a milestone we find interesting and one which has helped to shape journalism to what we know now. I will pick one milestone and focus on that specific area. From this session it gives me ideas into what I could focus my assignment towards. I do wonder were journalism we be in many years to come.

Leave a Reply

