Ethical debate about Photoshop

I strongly believe that a “real photograph” is an image captured at that specific moment of time and that any sort of alterations and enhancements made later could be seen as lying or cheating. This is because the manipulation could be used to persuade people into buying into a product/brand and could make people feel worse about their appearance, because what they see they believe to be real. In fact, if an image is manipulated it is no more real or natural. I think that being able to manipulate images through software’s is very clever and useful. However, morally I feel like it should be used for good like getting rid of the odd spot and change the colours slightly if needed. Not to make a hyper real representation of a human being.

I would personally like to work within a different field of the Creative Journalism and media Sector. However, If I was offered a job to work with Photoshop then I would take the job but put some of my ethical and moral opinions aside as it is well paid and is a big part of modern day industries within the Publications and Prints.  I isn’t to say that I would put all the moral and ethical opinions that I have well away I would always try to keep the integrity of the image. In todays society jobs are hard to come by, so Yes I would take a job working with photoshop.

Leave a Reply

